Growers shortlisted for International Grower of the Year Awards 2014

Growers shortlisted 2014

Growers from The Netherlands, Canada, China and Denmark are up for the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) International Grower of the Year Awards 2014 (IGOTY), in association with FloraCulture International.

The shortlist was selected by an international jury from nominations submitted by AIPH member grower organisations.Shortlisted businesses are:

The Netherlands: Schoneveld Breeding based in Twello, the Netherlands, a specialist in flowering pot plants including Cyclamen and Primula, with a substantial share of the world market for Cyclamen: approximately 80% the Netherlands, 50% Europe and 35% worldwide. 

Canada: Winkelmolen Nursery, a tree and shrub grower in Ontario, Canada, situated on 600 acres of land producing trees and shrubs for garden centres, cities, conservation areas and other nurseries. 

China: Fujian Liancheng Orchid Corp., a Chinese orchid breeder and grower based in the Fujian province of China, with three production bases totalling an area of 800,004㎡, producing more than 11 million orchids of nearly 260 varieties of 7 major species a year.

Denmark: Queen® nursery owned by Knud Jepsen A/S, a producer and developer of Kalanchoe based on a 120,000 m2 nursery north of Aarhus, Denmark, producing 22 million plants a year and selling products in 75 countries.

The winner will be announced at a gala dinner on 17 September 2014 during the AIPH Annual Congress at the Expo Plaza Hotel in Qingdao, China, where they will receive a golden rose trophy. Runners-up will receive silver and bronze roses with a special plaque for fourth place.

Commenting on the contest AIPH President, Vic Krahn, commented “This year we have seen a record number of nominations for the competition so to have reached the shortlist is a significant achievement for each of these businesses. Each one, in their own way, is helping to set the standard for quality plant production to drive the industry forwards into the future. I am personally looking forward to meeting each of these finalists and congratulating them on their success”.

To book places at the gala dinner contact

Rachel Wakefield

Communications Executive and Associate Editor
United Kingdom