Known as the Oscars for plants, the 9th AIPH International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) Awards 2018 is open for entries.

Sponsored by Headline Partner, Royal Flora Holland, the event is conveniently taking place at the IPM fairground on Tuesday 23 January 2018 in Essen, Germany, alongside IPM Essen 2018.

The awards recognise best practice in horticultural production by the top ornamental production nurseries from around the globe. With two new categories this year there are now even more ways to be a winner.

The categories are:

  • FINISHED PLANTS AND TREES – Plants and trees ready for final sale.
  • YOUNG PLANTS – Cuttings, plugs, liners, seedlings, etc, sold for growing on.
  • CUT FLOWERS AND BULBS – Flowers and foliage cut for indoor decorative use and bulbs.
  • NEW – SUSTAINABILITY AWARD – Best practice and innovation in improving sustainability.
  • NEW – INSPIRING BUSINESS AWARD – Small businesses (less than ten employees) that demonstrate unique qualities and innovation.

This year saw nine ornamental growers, from Belgium, China, Colombia, Denmark, The Netherlands, Russia and UK reach the finals, with Flores El Capiro S.A., Colombia, winning (AIPH) International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) 2017.

Carlos Manuel Uribe, Managing Director of Flores El Capiro, Winner IGOTY 2017, said: “It’s a very emotional ceremony and this prize is for our workers! At this award you are surrounded by the biggest and best in the world, so you should be there.”

Speaking about the 2016 awards Mike Rimland from Costa Farms, USA, Winner IGOTY 2016, added: “This past year we got amazing coverage, literally all over the world. The owners and workers were all very excited. We were humbled and it really did motivate us to do even better. It really was a very huge moment for Costa Farms!”

Not only do the awards champion outstanding achievement in the sector, they offer a unique opportunity to benefit from international networking across ornamentals horticulture industry. Growers, horticultural businesses and industry peers can all get involved by either entering the competition, sponsoring the event or attending the gala dinner and awards ceremony.

The deadline to submit entry forms is 15 July 2017 and all information can be found at [vc_button2 title=”Back” align=”left” style=”square” color=”sky” link=”url:%2Flatest-news%2F|title:Latest%20News|””>

Rachel Wakefield

Communications Executive and Associate Editor
United Kingdom