Air France KLM Martinair Cargo named “Cargo Airline of the Year 2020

SCHIPHOL, Netherlands: For the second consecutive year, Air France KLM Martinair Cargo has been named “Cargo Airline of the Year” by Air Cargo Week/World Air Cargo Awards.

“We extend sincere thanks to our customers and industry colleagues for their trust, support and great partnership during this uncertain time. Based on customer feedback and close cooperation, we have continuously adapted our service proposition,” said Christophe Boucher, EVP of Air France Cargo.

Air France KLM Martinair Cargo has made every effort to maintain a global airfreight network, helping to keep vital supply chains in place. This has always been essential, but even more so since the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, ensuring that healthcare facilities as well as private citizens have access to medicines, medical equipment, personal protective equipment (PPE) and other critical products.

Adriaan den Heijer, EVP of Air France-KLM Cargo says, “In recent months, we have kept restoring destinations and flights to our network, substantially operating on a cargo-only basis. We have deployed our passenger aircraft for cargo charter purposes and have fully utilised our freighter fleet. AFKLMP Cargo currently offers a network spanning more than 95 long-haul destinations. We could not have done this without the commitment of our loyal customers, partners and our great teams.”

GertJan Roelands, SVP of Sales & Distribution at AFKLMP Cargo: “Our digital approach, which is part of our digital transformation program, is giving customers the tools they need in the current circumstances. Our online booking percentage rose to 60 per cent, while website visits, especially via mobile devices, also increased significantly. In addition to our network and digital services, our teams made the difference, displaying great drive and constantly adapting to changing realities and customer needs, offering expertise and experience to all markets on a daily basis. We are very proud of this achievement.”

Pictured left to right are Christophe Boucher, Adriaan den Heijer and GertJan Roelands.

↑ Back to top